Virginia is NOT Flat

By Theresa on Jun 29, 2016 10:29 pm

Whoever made up the rumor that Virginia is flat has some explaining to do.  Most thru hikers have been fed false information that Virginia is a much easier state than others due to its terrain.  Well I am here to dispel that myth.

When I began my research on the Appalachian Trail I started out by watching other hikers’ YouTube videos.  Many of them seemed to act like Virginia was pretty level terrain and a cake walk.  Now that we are getting close to the end of this state, I can honestly say it has been the hardest one for me so far.

Don’t get me wrong, Virginia is lower elevation than we are used to.  It also has shorter climbs vertically that tend to be longer in length.  What people don’t warn you about though is that they are constant up and downs.  The terrain is also becoming slightly more rocky as we get farther north.

Even though Virginia has been hard and long (25% of the trail) it has provided some of the most amazing views so far.  I was blown away that the ‘green tunnel’ is a very beautiful place.  If you have been following my Instagram you can probably see what I mean about this.  We have also seen more wildlife in the last 300 miles than the rest of the trail combined.

Now that we are almost 1000 miles into the trail it is a blessing and a cruse that we are leaving Virginia.  It has been challenging being in a state for such a long time, however, the benefits outweigh the cons.  The beautiful scenery and wildlife are something I really wasn’t expecting, but I’m sure glad that the ‘flat’ part is over!

Leave a Reply

