Fitness After the Trail

By Theresa on Oct 15, 2016 03:46 pm

A few weeks ago I decided to get back into a gym routine after a month off the trail.  I went across town to Crossfit CHF in Maryville and attempted the worst workout of my life.  It started out with a short strength portion of back squats.  It took me about 5 seconds for to realize that my body had completely changed from what it was 9 months ago.  After completing the squats, then came the WOD (workout of the day) which involved me beating myself to death with a jump rope and doing dumbbell snatches until my arms wanted to fall off.

After that workout I was sore for 5 full days.  It was a hard pill to swallow, but I came to the realization that the trail changed my body more than I thought it would have.  I decided that I couldn’t just jump right back into Crossfit.  Instead of trying to be superwoman, I figured I’d go back to the basics.

Starting last week, I got back into a bodybuilding routine.  I’m doing 4 days a week at the gym, each day being a different group of muscles.  It has been going great so far and it is only the end of the second week.  Even though I lost a good amount of strength, I gained a huge amount of endurance and cardio on the trail.  I was almost in shock when I decided to take a run on the treadmill and it seemed easier than ever before.  Then I jumped on the rower and realized I had lost a little bit of my pulling ability but gained the cardio to make up for it.

The trail has changed me in many ways and I would say 99% of the change has been for the better.  The 1% that I didn’t enjoy is the change of my body losing strength, but I know that is something I can work to get back.  If anyone out there is reading this and they are recently off the trail, I highly recommend getting into a regular physical activity routine.  Many of you are experiencing post trail depression and physical activity is a great aide in overcoming it.  I wish you all luck in finding what works for you and in getting back into a routine that fits your new lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

